Facilitating the Work of Health Equity Researchers

HELI 2018 group

Health Equity Leadership Institute Class of 2018

Collaborative Center for Health Equity

The CCHE connects partners from the state’s rural, urban, and tribal communities with university faculty, staff, and students to advance long-term, mutually beneficial partnerships in teaching, research, and service initiatives to improve health equity in underserved communities of Wisconsin.

Connect with CCHE

CCHE Alerts

Upcoming Events

Jun 17

What We Do In Health Equity

Research

The CCHE team includes an impressive group of researchers actively pushing the envelope with translational health equity research & we’re proud to support the interdisciplinary work of junior health equity researchers at UW.

Learn more about our Health Equity Research Fellows.

Leadership Development

Our portfolio of programs is designed to grow future leaders in health equity, from our most junior of students to post-doctoral scholars, faculty at UW and elsewhere and staff who contribute to health equity research!

Please explore some of the workforce development initiatives underway with our HELI and AHEAD Programs.

Technical Assistance

Our team contributes to partnerships with a diverse array of offices, organizations and individuals who share our interests in:

  • Addressing the causes and consequences of disparities in health and health outcomes;
  • Improving the knowledge, skills and attitudes of healthcare providers and others who serve diverse patients and clients;
  • Drawing and relying on the expertise of diverse stakeholders & much more!

Community Engagement

Community-academic partnerships can provide unique collaborative teaching, student service learning and research opportunities to advance the health and wellness of underserved communities.

Our team members often broker community-campus partnerships around health equity issues; we ensure that the expertise and assets of both community and academic partners are recognized and integrated into partnerships happening in communities across the state.

CCHE Team

Dorothy Farrar-Edwards

Director, Collaborative Center for Health Equity

dfedwards@wisc.edu

Christine Sorkness

Senior Associate Executive Director

sorkness@wisc.edu

Angela Byars-Winston

Associate Director, Collaborative Center for Health Equity

ambyars@wisc.edu

Sarah Esmond

Director, ICTR Administration

sesmond@wisc.edu

Stephanie Budge

AHEAD Program Faculty Director

budge@wisc.edu

Susan Passmore

Senior Scientist & CCHE Assistant Director for Community Engaged Research

passmore2@wisc.edu

Caitlin Scott

Health Equity Communications Specialist

cscott8@wisc.edu

Tyson Jackson

Information and Engagement Coordinator

tgjackson@wisc.edu

Al Castro

CCHE Research Ambassador

acastro@unitedcc.org

Erika Olmos

CCHE Research Ambassador

eolmos@unitedcc.org