University of Wisconsin–Madison

Scientific Review Committees

The UW-ICTR Scientific Review Committees (SRC) meet twice monthly to review all protocols forwarded to them from the UW Health Science (HS) IRB via ARROW (based on how the applicant addresses the “Scientific Review: Other” section, item 18.1). Protocols reviewed by the SRC include those not reviewed by the Western IRB or by the UW Carbone Cancer Center Protocol Review and Monitoring Committee (UWCCC PRMC). The HS-IRB does not require SRC review of FUNDED protocols with previous scientific reviews (e.g., federally-funded, or foundation-supported projects that have received peer-review).

**IMPORTANT**: The SRC’s review will focus on the scientific protocol that is uploaded under the Study Summary section of the IRB/ARROW application. This scientific protocol should include the elements described in the IRB’s Protocol Guidance document in the UW-Madison KnowledgeBase.

Each SRC includes a broad representation of scientific experts, recruited from schools and departments within the School of Medicine and Public Health (SMPH), and outside the SMPH (School of Education, School of Pharmacy, School of Nursing, and the College of Engineering).

The Monday SRC is chaired by Paul Sondel, MD, PhD; the Wednesday SRC by John P. Sheehan, MD. The SRCs are under the direction of the ICTR and SMPH Senior Associate Dean Marc Drezner.

Scheduled SRC meeting dates are listed below, followed by a list of the chair and current members of each committee. Applications must be received through ARROW by 12:00 noon by the date in parentheses.

2017 ICTR Scientific Review Committee Meeting Dates

  • Wednesday, June 14, 2017 (Tuesday, June 6)
  • Wednesday, July 12, 2017 (Wednesday, July 5)
  • Monday, July 24, 2017 (Friday, July 14)
  • Wednesday, August 9, 2017 (Tuesday, August 1)
  • Monday, August 28, 2017 (Friday, August 18)
  • Wednesday, September 13, 2017 (Tuesday, September 5)
  • Monday, September 25, 2017 (Friday, September 15)
  • Wednesday, October 11, 2017 (Tuesday, October 3)
  • Monday, October 23, 2017 (Friday, October 13)
  • Wednesday, November 8, 2017 (Tuesday, October 31)
  • Monday, November 27, 2017 (Friday, November 17)
  • Wednesday, December 13, 2017 (Tuesday, December 5)
  • (the Monday committee will not meet in December 2017)

Monday SRC Committee Members:

  • Paul Sondel, MD, PhD (Chair); Human Oncology, Pediatrics-Hematology-Oncology, Genetics (SMPH)
  • Biostatistics (SMPH)*: Aimee Broman, MA; Scott Hetzel, MS; Victoria Rajamanickam, MS; Paul Rathouz, PhD
  • Nihal Ahmad, PhD; Medicine-Dermatology (SMPH)
  • David Bell, PhD; Kinesiology (School of Education)
  • Barbara Bendlin, PhD; Medicine-Geriatrics (SMPH)
  • Christopher François, MD; Radiology-MRI, Cardiothoracic Imaging (SMPH)
  • Craig January, MD; Medicine-Cardiology (SMPH)
  • Barbara Klein, MD, MPH; Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences (SMPH)
  • Vivek Prabhakaran, MD, PhD; Radiology-Neuroradiology (SMPH)
  • Karen Pridham, PhD, RN; School of Nursing
  • Kristopher Schroeder, MD; Anesthesiology (SMPH)
  • John Sheehan, MD; Medicine-Hematology-Oncology (SMPH)
  • Marcia Slattery, MD, MHS; Psychiatry (SMPH)
  • Judy Smith, MD, PhD; Pediatrics-Rheumatology (SMPH)
  • Ronald Sorkness, PhD, RPH; School of Pharmacy
  • Robert Striker, MD, PhD; Medicine-Infectious Disease (SMPH)
  • Nathan Welham, PhD, CCC-SLP; Surgery-Otolaryngology (SMPH)
  • Donald A. Wiebe, PhD; Pathology & Laboratory Medicine (SMPH)

Wednesday SRC Committee Members:

  • Nizar Jarjour, MD (Chair); Medicine-Pulmonary & Critical Care (SMPH)
  • Biostatistics (SMPH)*: Kevin Buhr, PhD; Thomas Cook, PhD; John Kloke, PhD; Jeanette Mumford, PhD; Ryan Zea, MS
  • Jill Barnes, PhD; Kinesiology (School of Education)
  • Donita Croft, MD, MS; Medicine-Pulmonary (SMPH)
  • John Dopp, PharmD; School of Pharmacy
  • Ted Goodfriend, MD; Medicine-Clinical Pharmacology (SMPH)
  • Hrissanthi (Chris) Ikonomidou, MD; Pediatric Neurology (SMPH)
  • Bo Liu, PhD; Surgery-Vascular Surgery (SMPH)
  • Jonathan Makielski, MD, FACC; Medicine-Cardiology (SMPH)
  • Julie Mares, MSPH, PhD; Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences (SMPH)
  • Thomas Oliver, PhD, MHA; Population Health Sciences (SMPH)
  • Diane Puccetti, MD; Pediatrics-Hematology-Oncology (SMPH)
  • Luigi Puglielli, MD, PhD; Medicine-Geriatrics (SMPH)
  • Scott Reeder, MD, PhD; Radiology (SMPH)
  • Mark Schiebler, MD; Radiology (SMPH)
  • Aleksander Stanic-Kostic, MD, PhD; Obstetrics and Gynecology-Reproductive Endocrinology (SMPH)
  • Douglas Wiegmann, PhD; College of Engineering
    * Biostatistics members alternate meetings

Publications arising from any research project that has undergone review by the ICTR SRC should acknowledge support by stating:

“The project described was supported by the Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA) program, through the NIH National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS), grant UL1TR000427. The content is solely the responsibility of the authors and does not necessarily represent the official views of the NIH.”

PLEASE NOTE: ICTR support includes not only direct fiscal support such as funding for pilots, but also ICTR resources like scientific editing, use of the Clinical Research Unit, CRU consults, ICTR Scientific Review Committee review, and consultations in biostatistics.

Contact Person/People

Danielle Gale
(608) 262-3005