University of Wisconsin–Madison

Scientific Review Committees

The UW-ICTR Scientific Review Committees (ICTR SRC) meet twice monthly to review all protocols forwarded  to them from the UW Health Sciences and Minimal Risk IRBs via ARROW (based on how the applicant addresses the “Scientific Review: Other” section, item 18.1). The ICTR SRC does not review applications that are reviewed by outside IRBs (e.g., Western IRB, Single IRB Review Partners) or by the UW Carbone Cancer Center Protocol Review and Monitoring Committee (UWCCC PRMC). The UW IRBs do not require ICTR SRC review of FUNDED protocols with previous scientific reviews (e.g., federally-funded, or foundation-supported projects that have received peer-review).

**IMPORTANT**: The SRC’s review will focus on the scientific protocol that is uploaded under the Study Summary section of the IRB/ARROW application. This scientific protocol should include the elements described in the IRB’s Protocol Guidance document in the UW-Madison KnowledgeBase.

Each SRC includes a broad representation of scientific experts, recruited from schools and departments within the School of Medicine and Public Health (SMPH), and outside the SMPH (School of Education, School of Pharmacy, School of Nursing, and the College of Engineering).

The Monday SRC is chaired by Paul Sondel, MD, PhD; the Wednesday SRC by John P. Sheehan, MD. The SRCs are under the direction of the ICTR and SMPH Senior Associate Dean Marc Drezner.

Scheduled SRC meeting dates are listed below, followed by a list of the chair and current members of each committee. Applications must be received through ARROW by 12:00 noon by the date in parentheses.

2017 ICTR Scientific Review Committee Meeting Dates

  • Wednesday, November 8, 2017 (Tuesday, October 31)
  • Monday, November 27, 2017 (Friday, November 17)
  • Wednesday, December 13, 2017 (Tuesday, December 5)
  • (the Monday committee will not meet in December 2017)

2018 ICTR Scientific Review Committee Meeting Dates

  • Wednesday, January 10, 2018 (Tuesday, January 2)
  • Monday, January 22, 2018 (Friday, January 12)
  • Wednesday, February 14, 2018 (Tuesday, February 6)
  • Monday, February 26, 2018 (Friday, February 16)
  • Wednesday, March 14, 2018 (Tuesday, March 6)
  • Monday, March 26, 2018 (Friday, March 16)
  • Wednesday, April 11, 2018 (Tuesday, April 3)
  • Monday, April 23, 2018 (Friday, April 13)
  • Wednesday, May 9, 2018 (Tuesday, May 1)
  • Monday, May 21, 2018 (Friday, May 11)
  • Wednesday, June 13, 2018 (Tuesday, June 5)
  • Monday, June 25, 2018 (Friday, June 15)
  • Wednesday, July 11, 2018 (Tuesday, July 3)
  • Monday, July 23, 2018 (Friday, July 13)
  • Wednesday, August 8, 2018 (Tuesday, July 31)
  • Monday, August 27, 2018 (Friday, August 17)
  • Wednesday, September 12, 2018 (Tuesday, September 4)
  • Monday, September 24, 2018 (Friday, September 14)
  • Wednesday, October 10, 2018 (Tuesday, October 2)
  • Monday, October 22, 2018 (Friday, October 12)
  • Wednesday, November 14, 2018 (Tuesday, November 6)
  • Monday, November 26, 2018 (Friday, November 16)
  • Wednesday, December 12, 2018 (Tuesday, December 4)

(the Monday committee will not meet in December 2018)

 

Monday SRC Members:

  • Paul Sondel, MD, PhD (Chair); Human Oncology, Pediatrics-Hematology-Oncology, Genetics (SMPH)
  • Biostatistics (SMPH)*: Roxana Alexandridis, PhD ;Aimee Broman, MA; Scott Hetzel, MS; Victoria Rajamanickam, MS; Paul Rathouz, PhD
  • Nihal Ahmad, PhD; Medicine-Dermatology (SMPH)
  • David Bell, PhD; Kinesiology (School of Education)
  • Barbara Bendlin, PhD; Medicine-Geriatrics (SMPH)
  • Christopher François, MD; Radiology-MRI, Cardiothoracic Imaging (SMPH)
  • Wei Huang, MD; Pathology and Laboratory Medicine (SMPH)
  • Craig January, MD; Medicine-Cardiology (SMPH)
  • Karen Pridham, PhD, RN; School of Nursing
  • Alexey Samsonov, PhD; Neuroradiology (SMPH)
  • Robert Sanders, MBBS, PhD, FRCA; Anesthesiology (SMPH)
  • Marcia Slattery, MD, MHS; Psychiatry (SMPH)
  • Judy Smith, MD, PhD; Pediatrics-Rheumatology (SMPH)
  • Ronald Sorkness, PhD, RPH; School of Pharmacy
  • Robert Striker, MD, PhD; Medicine-Infectious Disease (SMPH)
  • David Vanness, PhD; Population Health Sciences (SMPH)
  • James Verhoeve, PhD; Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences (SMPH)
  • Nathan Welham, PhD, CCC-SLP; Surgery-Otolaryngology (SMPH)

Wednesday SRC Members:

  • John P. Sheehan, MD (Chair); Medicine-Hematology-Oncology (SMPH)
  • Biostatistics (SMPH)*: Kevin Buhr, PhD; Jeanette Mumford, PhD; Ryan Zea, MS
  • Jill Barnes, PhD; Kinesiology (School of Education)
  • Donita Croft, MD, MS; Medicine-Pulmonary (SMPH)
  • John Dopp, PharmD; School of Pharmacy
  • Catherine Gallagher, MD; Neurology (SMPH)
  • Ted Goodfriend, MD; Medicine-Clinical Pharmacology (SMPH)
  • Richard Halberg, PhD; Medicine-Gastroenterology and Hepatology (SMPH)
  • Bo Liu, PhD; Surgery-Vascular Surgery (SMPH)
  • Jonathan Makielski, MD, FACC; Medicine-Cardiology (SMPH)
  • Julie Mares, MSPH, PhD; Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences (SMPH)
  • Thomas Oliver, PhD, MHA; Population Health Sciences (SMPH)
  • Robert Przybelski, MD, MS; Medicine-Geriatrics (SMPH)
  • Diane Puccetti, MD; Pediatrics-Hematology-Oncology (SMPH)
  • Mark Schiebler, MD; Radiology (SMPH)
  • Aleksander Stanic-Kostic, MD, PhD; Obstetrics and Gynecology-Reproductive Endocrinology (SMPH)
  • Benjamin Walker, MD; Anesthesiology (SMPH)
  • Douglas Wiegmann, PhD; College of Engineering
  • John-Paul Yu, MD, PhD; Neuroradiology (SMPH)
    * Biostatistics members alternate meetings

Publications arising from any research project that has undergone review by the ICTR SRC should acknowledge support by stating:

“The project described was supported by the Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA) program, through the NIH National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS), grant UL1TR000427. The content is solely the responsibility of the authors and does not necessarily represent the official views of the NIH.”

PLEASE NOTE: ICTR support includes not only direct fiscal support such as funding for pilots, but also ICTR resources like scientific editing, use of the Clinical Research Unit, CRU consults, ICTR Scientific Review Committee review, and consultations in biostatistics.

Contact Person/People

Danielle Gale
dgale@uwhealth.org
(608) 262-3005