New KL2 Scholars Start July 1

Three new early stage investigators have joined the ICTR KL2 Scholars program beginning July 1, 2019. The Scholars program is an NIH-funded career development award for junior faculty engaged in translational research that provides protected time for research, mentoring, and other career development activities.

These new participants, Olufunmilola Abraham (School of Pharmacy), Sarah McCoy (Department of Medicine, Division of Oncology), and Sean Ronnekleiv-Kelly (Department of Surgery), join ten other scholars admitted in previous years, all of whom span the breadth of multidisciplinary research on the UW-Madison campus. (Click for a complete list of our scholars and descriptions of their research programs). Manish Shah, ICTR KL2 Program Director comments,

Manish ShahEach year we are gratified at the extremely high caliber of the KL2 applicants who are nominated by their departments.  We are very pleased by the group that started July 1, as they reflect the breadth of research performed at UW.

The three KL2 Scholars will join recipients of independent career development awards who are encouraged to participate in the ICTR Mentored Research Scholars Seminar Series.  Corrine Voils, ICTR KL2 Program Director comments,

The Seminar Series provides early stage investigators the skills to become future leaders in clinical and translational research through a combination of workshops and discussions, providing the skills you do not usually get through a degree program.

This year, the additional participants include Petra Popovics (School of Veterinary Medicine), Adam Gepner (Department of Medicine, Division of Cardiology), Dan Grupe (Center for Healthy Minds), Emma Mohr (Department of Pediatrics), and Audra Sterling (Department of Communications Sciences and Disorders).

Nominations for KL2 Awards starting July 1, 2020 are due July 31, 2019.