Nine Predocs and Postdocs Receive TL1 Training Awards

A collage featuring headshots of eight researchers.
First row, from left to right: Hoang Bui, Suhjung Janet Lee, Helen Long, Rachel Minne. Second row, from left to right: West Roberts, Amanda Schussman, Bethany Stieve, Yinghua Wang. Not pictured: Zachary Gómez-Sánchez.

Seven University of Wisconsin–Madison predoctoral students and two postdoctoral researchers have received ICTR’s TL1 Training Awards, which provide support for promising researchers interested in clinical and translational science. Most began their fellowships over the summer, and one will start in January. The awards are an NIH-funded initiative through the Clinical and Translational Science Awards (CTSA) program.

The predoctoral trainees come from the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, School of Medicine and Public Health, and School of Veterinary Medicine. They will receive triannual mentor meetings and attend monthly writing workshops. The awards also include a stipend, health insurance, a tuition-and-fee waiver and a travel allowance. Read more about the 2023 predoctoral cohort:

Hoang Bui is a PhD student in nutrition and metabolism affiliated with the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences and the Department of Medicine. His current TL1 project focuses on characterizing adipocyte progenitors and their crucial role in assessing disease risk. With a passion for research and teaching, Hoang strives to make significant contributions by driving innovative advancements in strategies that positively impact human health and evolution. He will be mentored by Andrea Galmozzi, assistant professor of medicine.

Zachary Gómez-Sánchez is a PhD student in molecular and cellular pharmacology in the Department of Neuroscience. Her TL1 project will focus on how CBLN2 dysregulation underlies synaptic deficits in Down Syndrome. Her TL1 fellowship will begin in January 2024. She will be mentored by André Sousa, assistant professor of neuroscience.

Suhjung Janet Lee is pursuing a PhD in neuroscience and a master of public affairs through the Neuroscience and Public Policy Program. Her TL1 Project is titled “Psychedelic Outcomes: Interaction of Environment and Self-Identity – Supporting Prolonged Likelihood of Unprejudiced Success (POIESIS PLUS).” She will be mentored by Cody Wenthur, assistant professor of pharmacy.

Rachel Minne is a PhD student in the Department of Medical Physics. Her TL1 project will explore imaging and therapeutic efficacy analysis of a novel MET-directed, radionuclide-conjugated, camelid-derived nanobody in non-small cell lung cancer. She will be mentored by Randy Kimple, associate professor of human oncology.

West Roberts is a PhD student in the Department of Neuroscience. His TL1 project will explore white and gray matter microstructure and connectivity changes in the Alzheimer’s Disease Connectome Project. As part of his studies through the Neuroscience Training Program, Roberts will be mentored by Vivek Prabhakaran, professor and director of neuroimaging research in the Department of Radiology.

Amanda Schussman is a PhD student in cellular and molecular pathology in the Department of Surgery. Her TL1 Project will focus on improving cancer detection by developing enrichment methods for structural variants in cell-free DNA. She will be mentored by Muhammed Murtaza, associate professor of surgery.

Yinghua Wang is a PhD student in comparative biomedical sciences in the School of Veterinary Medicine. Her TL1 project seeks to target resistance mechanisms of canines and humans in Diffuse large B cell Lymphoma (DLBCL). She will be mentored by Xuan Pan, associate professor of veterinary oncology.

The postdoctoral program provides two years of funding and training on individualized research specialization, leadership skills, team science, writing, responsible conduct of research, and rigor and reproducibility. The fellows have meetings with program principal investigators throughout the year and attend courses, workshops and seminars which prepare them for academic and leadership careers. Read more about the 2023 postdoctoral fellows:

Helen Long, PhD, CCC-SLP, is affiliated with the Wisconsin Intelligibility, Speech, and Communication (WISC) Laboratory at the Waisman Center with a background in speech-language pathology. Her TL1 postdoctoral research will explore perceptual and acoustic features of infant vocalizations to support the early identification of speech impairment in children at risk for cerebral palsy. She will be mentored by Katherine C. Hustad, professor in the Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders.

Bethany Stieve, PhD, is affiliated with the Department of Neurology. Her TL1 research will work to identify biomarkers of short-term response to clinical neurostimulation. She will be mentored by Andrew Knox and Aaron Struck, assistant professors of neurology.

Applications for the next round of TL1 awards will be due in spring 2024. Visit ICTR’s Career Development page for more information.