Our External Advisory Committee

The institute relies on an External Advisory Committee (EAC) comprised of eleven members to provide essential evaluation and feedback on our ongoing and evolving programs. The EAC convenes annually to review our programs and provide guidance and suggestions pursuant to recent progress, new programmatic directions, leadership, and other topical areas that emerge between meetings. Our presentation to the EAC is comprehensive and includes metrics on every program, planned changes, and problems encountered/solutions utilized, as well as highlights associated with each program. Over the past 10 years, we have made changes in our EAC membership to maintain a diverse group with broad expertise, appropriate to the changing goals and directions of the CTSA program.

External Advisory Committee
Name Position – Institution
Sergio Aguilar-Gaxiola, MD, PhD Director, Clinical and Translational Research Center Community Engagement Program
University of California-Davis
Michael J. Becich, MD, PhD Associate Director, Clinical and Translational Science Institute
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Bruce Blazar, MD Director, Center for Translational Medicine
University of Minnesota Medical School
Robert A. Clark, MD, MACP Director, Institute for Integration of Medicine and Science
University of Texas Health Science Center
Geoffrey M. Curran, PhD Director, Center for Implementation Research
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Robert P. Kimberly, MD Director, Center for Clinical and Translational Science
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Christopher Lindsell, PhD Director, Institute for Clinical and Translational Research Methods
Duke University School of Medicine
Emma Meagher, MD Director, Translational Research Education
University of Pennsylvania
Reza Shaker, MD Director, Clinical and Translational Science Institute
Medical College of Wisconsin
Justin Starren, MD, PhD Deputy Director
Northwestern University Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute
Kevin Wooten, PhD Team Science Education Leader, Institute of Translational Sciences
University of Texas Medical Branch