University of Wisconsin–Madison

About ICTR

The University of Wisconsin-Madison (UW) is transforming its culture and environment to develop clinical and translational science as a distinct discipline. UW approaches this challenge with the unique perspective afforded by the transformation of the Medical School to a School of Medicine and Public Health, which mandates creation of a health delivery system based on effective application of current knowledge by turning it into current practice. Achieving this goal is facilitated by the strength UW derives from a strong and committed partnership forged by its Health Science Schools and Marshfield Clinic.

To undertake the necessary re-engineering of research activity at UW, the University formed the Institute for Clinical and Translational Research (ICTR) in 2007.  Essential to meeting our objective is developing a cadre of multidisciplinary biomedical and behavioral scientists capable of accelerating translation of research findings into evidence-based policies and practices to improve health in the US.  Such outcomes are facilitated by providing investigators readily available critical resources, including informatics tools, biostatistical support, and an array of core technologies. The resultant innovative discoveries of research teams are being translated to health practice via novel ICTR programs in community-academic partnerships, dissemination and implementation, and through an extensive well-developed clinical network in Wisconsin.





Governance, Evaluation & Collaboration

  • External Advisory Committee (EAC)

    The Institute relies on an External Advisory Committee (EAC) comprised of 13 members to provide essential evaluation and feedback on our ongoing and evolving programs.  The EAC convenes annually to review our programs and provide guidance and suggestions pursuant to recent progress, new programmatic directions, leadership, and other topical areas that emerge between meetings.  Our presentation to the EAC is comprehensive and includes the metrics on every program, planned changes, and problems encountered/solutions utilized, as well highlights associated with each program.  Over the past 10 years, we have made changes in the EAC membership to maintain a diverse group with broad expertise, appropriate to the changing goals and directions of the CTSA program.

    External Advisory Committee
    Name Position – Institution
    Sergio Aguilar-Gaxiola, MD, PhD Director, Community Engagement Program and Center for Reducing Health Disparities – University of California-Davis
    Michael Becich, MD, PhD Associate Director, Clinical and Translational Science Institute – University of Pittsburgh
    Bruce Blazar, MD Director, Center for Translational Medicine University of Minnesota Medical School
    Kathleen T. Brady, MD, PhD Director, South Carolina Clinical and Translational Institute Medical University of South Carolina
    Robert A. Clark, MD, MACP Director, Institute for Integration of Medicine and Science University of Texas Health Science
    Bradley Evanoff, MD, MPH Director, Institute for Clinical and Translational Sciences Washington University
    Emma Meagher, MD Director, Translational Research Education University of Pennsylvania
    Brad H. Pollock, PhD, MPH Chair, Department of Public Health Sciences University of California-Davis
    Enola Proctor, PhD, MSW Director, Center for D&I at the Institute for Public Health, Washington University
    Julie Rainwater, PhD Director, Clinical and Translational Science Center Evaluation Center – University of California-Davis
    Gary Rosenthal, MD Director, Institute for Clinical and Translational Science University of Iowa
    Anantha Shekhar, MD (Chair) Director, Indiana Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute – Indiana University School of Medicine
    Kevin Wooten, PhD Professor and Chair, Management Department, College of Business, University of Houston
  • Board of Governors (BoG)

    The ICTR Board of Governors (BoG) meets bimonthly to provide guidance on all ICTR programs and policies that impact clinical and translational research across the institution. Chaired by the Vice Chancellor of Research and Graduate Education, and comprised of the Deans of the Health Sciences Schools and College, the CEO of UW Health and the President of Marshfield Clinic, the committee provides final approval for programmatic changes and ensures that ICTR performs effectively across institutional and campus boundaries. The Committee also evaluates the work of ICTR leadership and, if necessary, recommends to the Vice Chancellor of Research and Graduate Education and the Chancellor the need to change leadership.

    Board of Governors  
    Name Position – Institution
    Robert N. Golden, MD Dean, UW-Madison School of Medicine & Public Health
    Linda D. Scott, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN Dean & Professor, UW-Madison School of Nursing
    Steven M. Swanson, PhD  Dean & Professor, UW-Madison School of Pharmacy
    Ian M. Robertson, DMet Dean & Professor, College of Engineering
    Mark Markel, DVM, PhD Dean, UW-Madison School of Veterinary Medicine
    Susan L Turney, MD, FACP CEO, Marshfield Clinic
    Alan S. Kaplan, MD CEO, UW Health
  • Our Supporters
    • UW Health
      UW Health and ICTR have an ongoing partnership that encompasses a variety of initiatives including:  joint informatics initiatives for infrastructure and services, collaboration on processes for clinical research and research acculturation, the All of Us Wisconsin precision medicine research program, and participation in our Learning Health Systems initiatives.  UW Health’s Patient and Family Advisor Partnership Program has also been an invaluable resource for patient and stakeholder engagement activities.
    • Wisconsin Partnership Program (WPP)
      ICTR efforts are substantially supported by an award from the WPP. This support allows us to broaden our translational research enterprise to include direct improvements in the health of people in Wisconsin, a key shared mission of ICTR and WPP. WPP funds allow ICTR to support research teams through biostatistics, informatics, and community-academic partnership resources, provide pilot grants for clinical and translational research, embed best practices to promote health equity, and welcome participation by members of communities traditionally underrepresented in clinical research.