Career Development Awards

Two scientists observe ocular tissue samples with microscopic detail (NEI). This file is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic license. Copyright © Rhoda Baer PhotographyThe overall aim of ICTR Career Development awards is to develop a diverse and multidisciplinary clinical and translational research workforce. Awardees and their research mentors reflect the scope of the ICTR partners. While scholars are drawn primarily from the UW Schools of Medicine & Public Health, Nursing, Pharmacy, and Veterinary Medicine, the College of Engineering, and Marshfield Clinic, successful applicants have been affiliated with almost all of the UW-Madison schools and colleges. Programs include a TL1 Pre-Doctoral Award, a TL1 Post-Doctoral Award, a KL2 Scholars Program, and the AHEAD Pilot Award. In addition to these offerings, ICTR also supports Certificate Programs in Fundamentals of Clinical Research and Clinical and Community Outcomes Research.


This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

TL1 Postdoctoral Training Program - Rolling Application

The goal of the ICTR TL1 Postdoctoral Program is to train individuals holding professional doctoral degrees, facilitate differentiation/specialization of participants along various contemporary clinical and translational pathways, and prepare them for academic development supported by training grants, career development awards, or other types of extramural funding.

We expect trainees to gain competency in two areas,  1) fundamentals of research design & data science, and 2) regulatory & research ethics, through a variety of courses, workshops, seminars, etc.

Eligibility is limited to applicants who are either currently in a non-tenure track faculty title series or academic staff, who upon successful completion of the TL1 Postdoctoral award, will be appointed to the UW Madison faculty (tenure track or non-tenure track title series).

Application for the TL1 Post-Doctoral Program

TL1 Postdoctoral Training Program RFA (DOCX; July 6, 2018 update)
Online application forms and instructions will be sent to individuals who have submitted the mandatory LOI.

Please direct questions to Ana Garic, Career Development Coordinator,

TL1 Predoctoral Training Program - 2019 Application Deadline Passed

The goal of the ICTR TL1 Predoctoral Program is to train future clinical and translational leaders and to introduce UW health-care professional and engineering students to the scientific foundation of this discipline. It builds on existing, strong clinical and translational training programs in the Schools of Medicine and Public Health, Nursing, Pharmacy, Veterinary Medicine, and the College of Engineering.

Trainees earn a stipend, health insurance, tuition and fees, and a travel allowance. They participate in biennial mentor meetings attended by ICTR leadership and monthly writing workshops.

TLI Program FAQs (PDF) updated Jan 16, 2019

Application for the 2018 TL1 Predoctoral Program

***Please note that there are two separate application types, one for individual trainees and mentors, and one for teams of two trainees and two mentors applying together***

Application Deadline: April 1, 2019
Award Announcement: May 14, 2019
Appointments Begin: July 1 or Sept 1, 2019

2019 TL1 Predoctoral Training Program RFA (Individual)

2019 TL1 Predoctoral Training Program RFA (Team)

Online application forms and instructions will be sent to individuals upon request. Please direct questions to Sally Wedde, TL1 Program Coordinator,

An information session for the team trainee application will be held March 1.

KL2 Scholars Program - Nominations Due July 30

This award supports junior faculty at UW Madison pursuing and actively engaged in translational research and who are committed to developing an independent research program. Funded by NIH, three scholars are awarded for two years; additional time in the program is possible upon review of scholar progress and need.

Deadlines for awards beginning July 1, 2020

  • RFA Release Date: June 2019
  • Dean/Chair Nomination Letter Receipt:  July 31, 2019
  • Mandatory Information Sessions (attend one): August 5 & 7, 2019
  • Application Receipt: October 1, 2019
  • Finalist Selection: November 11, 2019
  • Finalist Face-to-Face Interviews: November-December 2019
  • Award Just in Time: January 2020
  • Award Announcement: end of January 2020
  • Appointment Start Date: July 1, 2020

The next round of nominations will begin in June 2019 for July 2020 appointments.

Please direct KL2 Program questions to Ana Garic,

AHEAD Program Pilot Awards – 2019 Deadline Passed

The UW ICTR Advancing Health Equity and Diversity (AHEAD) Program Pilot Award is a mechanism for investigators associated with the AHEAD Program and other UW post-doctoral scholars/junior faculty focused on health equity research to gain experience in translational research that will facilitate their future career development. Specifically, this pilot award program seeks to support post-doctoral scholars who embrace an interdisciplinary approach to research, including those who genuinely engage community partners & stakeholders.

Application for the 2019 AHEAD Pilot Program

RFA Release: February 1, 2019
If interest is expressed, optional informational consultations will be offered in mid-February 2019
Mandatory Letter of Intent Due: March 5, 2019
Application Deadline: April 12, 2019
Award Announcement: June/July 2018
AHEAD Projects Begin: July 2019, earliest

2019 AHEAD Pilot Program RFA (PDF)
2019 AHEAD Pilot Program Application Forms (Word Doc)

Helpful: Article discussing Pilot vs Feasibility studies

Funded Projects in Previous Rounds – Descriptions. 

Please direct questions to Caitlin Scott, AHEAD Pilot Grants Administrator,

AHEAD Program Affiliated Scholars

Lisa Barroilhet

Centennial Scholar

Linnea Evans

Health Disparities Research Scholar

Bolanle Famakin

Centennial Scholar

Elizabeth Felton

Centennial Scholar

KJ Hansmann

Primary Care Research Fellow

Maria Mora Pinzon

Primary Care Research Fellow

Eric Rubenstein

Primary Care Research Fellow

Kierra Satler

Health Disparities Research Scholar

Kathryn Schmit

Primary Care Research Fellow

Leigh Senderowicz

Health Disparities Research Scholar

Dawd Siraj

Centennial Scholar

Vivian Tamkin

Health Disparities Research Scholar

Héctor Valdivia

Centennial Scholar

Shaneda Warren Andersen

Centennial Scholar

Jasmine Zapata

Centennial Scholar

Sherry Zhang

Health Disparities Research Scholar